Primary Election May 12

Holt County Clerk Cathy Pavel shows off the Holt County Drop Off Box that voters can use to drop off their early ballots on or before Tuesday, May 12.

The 2020 primary election will be a little different this year with social distancing and a lot of people voting by mail because of it.

Voters had until last Friday, May 1 to get their early ballot request forms in.

Voters who got their ballots early have until Tuesday, May 12 when the polls close to return their completed ballot.

Voters can return their ballot by mail, drop it off in the secure voter box located outside the courthouse.

Secretary of State Bob Evnen emphasized, "Do not give your ballot to a stranger. Mail or deliver it your self, or give it to someone who you know and trust to mail or deliver it for you."

Nebraskans have begun to return their completed ballots. Thus far 162,000 completed ballots have been returned of the 450,000 ballot sent out.

"At least 82 percent of likely primary voters who usually vote at the polling site have requested an early ballot in this primary election," stated Evnen. " Nebraska may be on a trajectory to setting a new record for ballots cast in Nebraska's 2020 primary election."

Holt County Clerk Cathy Pavel reported that as of Tuesday, May 5 the county has had 3,045 Early Voting Applications on file and in the mail.  In 2016 the total voters for the Presidential Primary was 2,326.

Polling places will be open from  8 a.m.-8 p.m. at the usual polling places except O'Neill Ward I and II which will now vote at the Holt County Annex.

Page Fire Hall, Page — Antelope, Iowa and Verdigris townships

Atkinson Community Center, 206 W. 5th St., Atkinson — Atkinson, Bell, Saratoga, Dustin, Sand Creek, Pleasant View, Fairview, Francis, Holt Creek, Green Valley and Sheridan townships and Atkinson Ward I

Chambers Fire Hall (new fire hall), 709 E. Main St., Chambers — Chambers, Conley, Shamrock, Josie, Swan, Wyoming, Lake and McClure townships

Knights of Columbus Hall, 410 W. Douglas St., O’Neill — Coleman, Paddock, Rock Falls, Emmet, Scott, Steel Creek, Willowdale  Grattan and Shields townships

Ewing Municipal Building, 209 E. Nebraska St., Ewing — Ewing, Golden and Deloit townships

Inman Community Building, Main Street, Inman — Inman Township

Stuart Auditorium, Stuart — Stuart and Cleveland townships

O’Neill National Guard Armory, 635 N. 4th St., O’Neill — O’Neill Ward III and IV.



(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.