O'Neill FCCLA Members

O'Neill FCCLA Members — Front row (l-r): Hana Miller, Harley Cahoy, Chloe Kaufman, Sydney Young and Hailey Scofield. Second row: Harlie Pinkerman, Sara Morrow, Emma Wrede, Kalarisa Munoz, Summer Minnig and Marissa Lichty. Third row: Kelsey Osborne, Paige Woodson, Ashley Pischel, Makenna Welke, Blair Langan, Emma Krysl, Haley Schmeichel, Hannah Alden and Maddie Hohbein.

Courtesy photo

LINCOLN — Twenty members of the O’Neill FCCLA Chapter traveled to the annual State Leadership Conference from April 8-10 in Lincoln. 

The theme for the conference was "Grow Potential Strengthen Roots." STAR competition was held, many awards were presented, officers were elected, service projects were completed and workshop sessions were presented. 

A summary of the accomplishments of the O’Neill Chapter follows.

Results of STAR competition for the O’Neill Chapter include:

State champions and gold medalists: Harley Cahoy, Chloe Kaufman and Hailey Scofield, Family Challenges and Issues, Jr.

State runners-ups, gold medalists and national qualifiers: Kelsey Osborne and Harlie Pinkerman, Illustrated Talk, Jr.; and Ashley Pischel, Recycle Redesign, Jr.

State runner-up, silver medalist and national qualifier: Sara Morrow, Nutrition and Wellness, Jr.

National qualifiers for an online event: Emma Krysl and Blair Langan, Digital Stories for Change

Gold medalists and third place finish: Marissa Lichty and Haley Schmeichel, National Programs in Action, Sr.; and Makenna Welke, Illustrated Talk, Sr.; and Summer Minnig and Kalarisa Munoz, Consumer Issues, Jr.

Silver medalists: Paige Woodson and Sydney Young, Health and Wellness, Jr.; and Emma Wrede and Hana Miller, National Programs in Action, Jr.

Power of One Awards: Krysl, Blair Langan, Lichty and Schmeichel

Krysl served as an honorary conference assistant for the conference.

An Honorary Membership was awarded to O’Neill Alum Erin (Schaaf) Rea in recognition of her continued dedication to the organization.

The O’Neill Chapter received the following awards: Developer Award, first place; Membership Award for increase in membership; and the Red and White Award.

Welke completed her term as a member of the State Peer Officer Team.

Many O’Neill Chapter alumni and community members served as evaluators at the state conference. Their assistance was appreciated very much.

Attending from O’Neill were Emma Krysl, Blair Langan, Marissa Lichty, Blair Langan, Hannah Alden, Maddie Hohbein, Makenna Welke, Kelsey Osborne, Sara Morrow, Harlie Pinkerman, Summer Minnig, Kalarisa Munoz, Harley Cahoy, Chloe Kaufman, Hana Miller, Ashley Pischel, Hailey Scofield, Paige Woodson, Emma Wrede, and Sydney Young. 

Chapter Advisors Ann Mann and Shannon Stelling, student teacher Sarah Smith and parent Brenda Schmeichel accompanied the group.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.